Hormones, Hair Loss and Halloween

img_0580-1

It’s been nearly a month since my first Lanreotide injection. I’ve had some good results – small reductions in symptoms and just enough more energy and steadiness to make life feel more manageable. I’m up and about, have gone out a couple of times without my wheelchair, and even on a couple of excursions without Coleman – to yoga with a friend, to the hair salon.

Hair. My hair is falling out. It was falling out before I started the treatment, most likely due to hormone issues (it’s been falling out for over a year!) but the rate has distinctly increased, a side-effect we knew was a possibility. So, I’m planning on shaving my head. Since I’m going to shave it anyway, I decided, why not have a little fun for Halloween?

Coleman and I attended a masquerade ball with a ‘fire and ice’ theme, and I decided to go ‘ice’. White hair is fun, still a bit of a shock when I look in the mirror, but fun! Stay tuned for buzz cuts, coming next week!

d3ea2f7e-5e85-420c-814a-16c95092421685e71963-5f48-4fd1-b0cf-6323172500e9

On Halloween night we dressed up with the kids and took them to the girl’s dormitory at the high school where they were given puzzles pieces and cards (thanks for accommodating our food allergies!) and got to see all the fun costumes and decorations the girls put together. We especially enjoyed Hogwarts, and Around the World!

The Farmer, the Dancer and the Dinosaurs

The bad news is I have a partial bowel obstruction. It’s been an on and off thing for the last month and has worsened in the last few days. We’re in touch with my team, trying medication and diet to help improve things. I’m managing fine at home, but will go in to the hospital if necessary. The worst part is the pain, which seems to be worse in the evening and at night than during the day – while being up and moving seems to help at the time, increased activity brings increased pain when I stop moving. We’re hoping things improve and continue to heal and that I get closer to ‘normal’, but this is likely going to be a condition I live with for the rest of my life, with better moments and worse moments.

Other medical updates: this month we do more testing to try to narrow down my bleeding disorder, visit maternal-fetal medicine for follow up OB/GYN care and see a dietician who will hopefully help us understand what I need in the way of supplements and how best to eat now that my digestive system has been rearranged. I also have my next injection of Lanreotide tomorrow, and we hope it will continue to help me stabilize.

November is NET cancer awareness month and Nov 10 is NET cancer day. Watch for more blog posts with updates on what we’re doing in the NET cancer community and what your support means to us. Thanks for journeying with us!

One thought on “Hormones, Hair Loss and Halloween

Leave a Reply

